YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Exhibition

Cutting through Fenwicks department store in Newcastle today I came across a small exhibition to celebrate the stores 140th anniversary.  This lady was part of the exhibition along with some lovely outfits (see extras)

Fenwicks has been part of my life forever.  My auntie (in the late 1930's) used to work there as a lift girl pressing the button for the lift to move and telling people what items were sold on each floor.  She wore a green uniform and hat (Fenwicks use a special shade of green on carpets, bags etc.).

 My mam used to take me to the cafe when I was small and we would visit the toy fair and when I was 17 I worked in an office very close to the store and opened a Fenwicks Account.  In those days they sold some very expensive clothes but on the ground floor there were much cheaper clothes for their younger clientele.  I remember there were communal changing rooms for trying on which didn't bother me at all then although I would hate them now.  

In the 1970's the tradition of the Fenwicks Christmas window started and continues to this day.  Its annual display is eagerly anticipated by many people.

Later on in the 1980's I once again worked in a different office close to Fenwicks and went in it just about every day as I used to buy my lunch time sandwich there.  I always ended up looking at the clothes and knew what they had in stock probably better than someone who worked there.

After I had my son we had many happy visits to the toy fair - carrying on the same tradition as my mam taking me.

I also had afternoon tea there in one of their restaurants with friends for my 60th birthday.

These day's it's gone a bit more upmarket and everything seems to be very expensive.  However, it holds a lot of memories for me so although I may not buy much there I do still like having a look around it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.