Arachne

By Arachne

2^8

About three weeks ago members of our choir were asked if we wanted to participate in a Tenebrae service in the church where we rehearse. I'd never heard of it but the description appealed to me: the church is lit only by candles and after each short piece sung, one candle is extinguished. The service ends when the whole building is plunged into darkness. It sounded moving and dramatic. I volunteered, I practised, I invited people to come along. 

Well... at 7pm there was still light coming though the church windows. The space didn't feel intimate but cavernous and the candles weren't scattered around the church as I'd imagined but in a large candelabra at the front. To add to my dismay, for two of the seven pieces we were singing I was asked to sing a different part from the one I'd practised. Sight-singing for a performance is not great, especially for someone with my limited skill.

Added to which, some of the soloists were so nervous their voices wavered, faded and went out of key.

There was only one part of the church where the light really did gradually dim and that was on my music stand - we all had small lights so we could read our music and the batteries of mine were dying. By the time we got to the last piece - which I was due to sight read - I could see almost nothing.

A pitiful performance. 

The picture has nothing to do with any of it, fortunately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.