Kahapon (Yesterday)

*backblips :) *See extras 

***
Featured photo is an old button from Baguio City days. B and I were both Baguio City creatives before we moved back here in Camarines Sur for T, Gramma and Gramps.  B was an Animation instructor of the Cordillera School of Digital Arts, while I had several "jobs" (from call centers, to ESL learning hubs, to government sponsored internships). I was the Secretary /Treasurer (?) of the Baguio Photographers Club. Since it has been more than a decade I could no longer remember my exact "position" but the memories and moments with some of the best in the country are eternally etched in my hyperthymestic brain. :) ***

***

Thorversations: 
P(i)a: What is that app? Is that Roblox? 
T: No!!! It's Minecraft! 
P(i)a: K. Can we selfie? 
T: (ignores me) 
P(i)a: Can I at least claim a free massage? 
T: .....
P(i)a: K. It seems you're not in the mood and not interested. 
T: Ugh! I did not even say that. Can you not?? 
P(i)a: (Laughter, plays Spotify and just takes self-timed yoga shots.)

***
Writing this today (Thursday afternoon here in the Philippines). Sweltering (sobrang init), which reminds me of the little kid I had a chance encounter with near a 711 store yesterday. I was figuring out my walk/run route on Strava when he saw me "bathe in mineral water." He asked me: Ate, ok ka lang? Responded with: Oks lang ako. Sobrang init kasi. (Am fine, it is just that the heat is quite intolerable/unbearable (?). As he was still standing near me with a big bag, my curiousity was tickled so I asked what's inside. I also asked how old is he and if he's a student. He said he is 13 years old and he is selling flavored popcorn for 5 pesos to help his parents make ends meet (not his words, just paraphrased it based on context clues.) Asked him if I could take his portrait and share it on social media, he said it was ok. I did not share it yet on Instagram and even here because even if I took a decent smiling photo of him, it does not meet my own standard for portrait photography/street photography. I shared it on Strava where no one really looks/cares about photos (most Strava users care about miles walked/run/cycled/climbed). 

***
Gratitude and light.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.