Woman Walking

By njoyce06

Abby Ate Something bad....

I started hearing Abby coughing, that was  getting worse and worse.  She was fine on our walk, greeted everyone and seemed fine.
    When The cough got worse and started trembling and leaped in my lap, I knew I had a problem.  
     I called my vet, and got an emergency appointment.  I went over straight away.  Abby was starting to bring up bloody phlegm.  I  was certain she had something stuck in her throat.
     After X-rays, it was confirmed that something had been stuck, her esophagus was stretched with a new sag, but clear.  More X-rays showed a dissension in her intestine.  Apparently she was passing the obstruction.   That was great news!!!!!!
     The bad news is the esophagus doesn't stretch, and won't shrink back in size.  Where it is popped out,  she could pool fluids and then aspirate into her lungs.  Not good, at all.
    Tonight she is on meds for the cough, nothing hard or abrasive down her throat, and time to see what happens with the esophagus..   The good news is that dogs get stuck in their throat from eating chicken  or steak bones and other things like sticks, etc.   It can be treated.    The bad news is she made need surgery to  remove the pocket where fluids collect.
    Abby isn't feeling well, so she didn't want any photos, so the picture is awful.  I told her she is allowed to have a bad hair day.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.