Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cherry blossoms

What a beautiful day it has been, sunny and warm and it truly felt like we have finally said goodbye to winter. I packed away my winter coats, polished my winter boots and packed them away, and out came the summer sandals!

I started the day with a run, my first one since I have had Covid and I was absolutely fine. To be honest I do feel like I had a cheat's version of Covid, so it was not much of a come back that was needed.

Gavin and I walked Xena is the woods, and then walked to the pink cherry blossom tree that I have been noticing all week so that I could take some photos of it. It really has just the most gorgeous blossoms.

I made a butternut soup for lunch - not sure why I chose soup for a warm day but then I could eat soup at any time. Luke and Meriel arrived from London just before lunch and for the first time this year we ate outside on the patio. Last summer we ate outside a mere handful of times as it just wasn't the best summer for it. 

Luke spent the afternoon studying while Meriel went for a long run (16 miles) as she is training for some half marathons. Adam and Pip are due to arrive in time for supper and I am looking forward to having them all here for the weekend. Just a pity that Tommy cannot join us :( 

I was saying to Gavin that at times I would like to roll back the years to when the boys were younger - but I don't like the idea of having to go through the two years of the Covid pandemic again, so I suppose I will just stick with where we are now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.