Ullswater

Here we go again ...
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2961235
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=VXbrSALG684

[extra - taken in their prime on 20th March]

I was very brave doing this on a Good Friday and was early enough to get a parking spot at Gowbarrow. As I was blipping this I met a woman and we got talking. She said how beautiful it was and I asked if she knew that today was THE day. She did and went onto say she had come from her home in Tynemouth deliberately as her name was Dorothy and that coming here today was a special birthday treat for herself. As we chatted on, Dorothy was tearful and asked if it was okay to hug. Her husband died a few years ago and her son, living in New Zealand, had arranged for a champagne tea at the hotel she was staying at. She said she tried to talk to someone new every day. As we looked across the lake we watched a paddle boarder and she said ‘l’m heading back home on Monday. I’m 75 ... I think I might try paddle boarding before I go’.

By the time I got back to the car park it was chocka so I slipped away, leaving the crowds behind and had a wander up the valley towards Seldom Seen. On my way back I went back to the old place to harvest some more sprouting broccoli and then headed home to work on the frustrating business of job application.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.