King Kazu

Fujii Kaze - Matsuri

Big day. Had my 3rd shot early in the morning and spent the day with my wife hanging out in Osu. Had nice food to eat and relaxed. I took a smoke break and saw the legend pictured above, Kazuyoshi Miura (or King Kazu). I knew it was him but my wife didn’t think so. She asked another smoker and they said it wasn’t him (“I’ve met him before when I worked at a hotel and that isn’t his “aura””).

I knew it was him and built up the courage to say hello. He was eating, to be fair, so I knew I was already disturbing him and his company. When I went to walk there the manager of the restaurant decided to come out to speak to them, DAMN! I retreated back a little to wait for the perfect time… my wife lurked in the background to see if I’d go and say hi.

So, I approached and spoke English, “Are you King Kazu?” (His nickname) and he said, “No, just Kazu.” He was very obliging despite the circumstances. We took a picture together and I apologised to him and his company for disturbing. I was still shaking for about 30 minutes after. It’s not everyday you meet a professional soccer player who represents the national team and is still playing at 54!

Also got to catch up with an old friend today for dinner. It was good to reconnect.

So yeah, big day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.