Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Bluebell Lunch

Warm, balmy conditions and blues skies persuaded me to brave the Good Friday traffic and bank holiday weekend crowds, and I headed over to The Vyne near Basingstoke.  I planned my arrival for opening time, yet, as predicted, cars were already queuing to get in. However it was all moving quickly and there were still plenty of spaces in the main car park.

Once in the crowds soon disappeared and I wandered around the main area until the café opened and I was able to get my customary coffee and scone, plus pick up lunch for later ... so far so good!

It was now getting busy, so I headed into the Morgaston Woods in search of bluebells and a quiet place to enjoy my lunch.  The bluebells still have a week or so to reach their best, but I knew of an area off the main paths which is normally good; I was not disappointed.  There were a few bees bumbling around, but my eye was caught by this fly, possibly a Centurion or Soldier Fly climbing into a bluebell for some nectar. While he enjoyed their lunch, so did I, sitting by the bluebell glade with just the sound of birds for company. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.