Harry and Arnold at the Shambles Market

When I have a stall at The Shambles Indoor market, I’m often set up next to Bernadette’s stall selling the books she and her brother Arnold publish, under the name of Holland Park Press. Although they are originally from the Netherlands they currently live in Malmesbury, about fifteen miles from Stroud but find our Shambles market suits them best as a ‘shop front’. 

Every morning when they set up their stall they bring in their black Labrador dog, Harry. Arnold then takes Harry for a walk before driving home to continue writing either his poetry or prose. Before they left this morning Harry as usual had been very friendly with me, trying to jump up and lick my face! Arnold managed to get him to sit and I grabbed my little camera to get this snap.

Recently they have been having problems with finding a new home and late last year they were featured in this national newspaper article, which tells their story better than I can. The banner headline of the article reads as follows:
The Dutch Bosnian War hero and his sister saved from ruin by kindness of a market town: When Covid left Arnold and Bernadette's publishing firm on its knees, they were forced to appeal for help. But they could never have dreamt how locals would rally round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.