Scribbler

By scribbler

Fun at the Dentist

"You, sit right down there," Shirley says with a grin.
"First we'll have x-rays and then we'll begin.
I'll dig and I'll scrape and I'll rinse till you drown.
Put on the dark glasses and sit yourself down."

The lead apron drops and the x-rays get taken.
This is how dentists can bring home the bacon.
They look for a flaw and they fill it with glee
To pay for their boat and their new SUV.

I sit. I endure. My report card is good.
The digital x-rays show all as it should.
"You've done a good job with your home care," I hear.
As insurance, I come back four times every year.

My mouth feels all fresh now. I've done what I must.
My visit with Shirley is never a bust.
We laugh and we giggle. I rarely feel down,
Though tomorrow I'll come back to get a new crown.

My dentist is skillful and gentle and kind.
He does what needs doing. I really don't mind
Except for the thousands that pour from my purse.
I'd rather see Shirley, for better or worse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.