Waimakariri River

Today the weather was calm, overcast and mild, with a smoky haze. I went to the Waimakariri Gorge bridge. The river was low and slow. Looking down from the high bridge the water was a deep, rich blue-green, and so clear I could see rocks on the bottom where it was not too deep.

This shot is taken downstream. The satiny water is reflecting the white sky, diminishing the vivid colour. I can't recall seeing it as calm as it was today. This is the same stretch of water that I blipped here, when it was in flood.

When I took the flood photo I made a shaky little video and posted it on YouTube. Much to my amazement it has been viewed 1757 times. It has even gained a comment- "Cool. I am? the first person to comment!"

I was thrilled at the attention my mantis and bee shot received yesterday. Thank you for all the hearts, comments and stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.