Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

I Need a Rest!

Pasg Hapus / Happy Easter!

Up early again for another walk.  After missing out on a crash site yesterday, I planned to head west and find a difficult Canadian Wellington bomber crash site.

The weather was much better today and there was no mist, you can see the views in one of the extras.  First up was the Saith Maen standing stones, a very eerie setting, there is something about the alignment of the stones if you look them up online.

And then I had to dust down my navigation skills and get my compass out to find the difficult crash site of a Canadian Wellington bomber that crashed in 1944.  The actual grid reference on the literature is wrong and you really have to have your wits about you as you're in the middle of nowhere.  But as you can see, find it I did.  Sadly the six-man crew were killed when they had engine problems and then hit some rain clouds which then resulted in icing.

A total of 9 miles today, so approximately 23 miles in the past 3 days.  I'm chuffed but also exhausted.  Lol!  A day off from walking tomorrow me thinks.

Today I am thankful for:

1.  Still being able to use my navigation skills
2.  Seeing the sights of Saith Maen and the Canadian Wellington Bomber
3.  A great few days of walking
4.  A bacon sandwich for tea

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.