horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Towering Morning

Clackmannanshire Tower Trail (or Tours de Clack?). A little over 30 miles, 1800ft of climbing (mainly due to Castle Campbell). Smiles and good mornings all round (even with the chap who cheerily mentioned a bell and I explained I prefer a polite ‘excuse me’). And just awesome drivers… Friendly roads still freaking me out slightly…

Wee test of my new @sigmasports Rox 4.0 cycle computer, connected to the Komoot app on my phone for route finding, as well. 

Castle Campbell sits above Dollar, an unremitting 20% or so climb (I made it as far as the last house, but that was brutal). 

Sauchie Tower tucked just off the road to the SSPCA Centre is probably the crumbliest of the lot, whereas Menstrie Castle is the strangest, now being private flats and surrounded by a 70s/80s housing estate. 

Alloa Tower was reached after a wrong turn meant a lap of the police station car park that may have aroused suspicions. Leaving Alloa the Rox 4.0 came into its own, guiding me through little back streets and onto an off road path to Clackmannan. 

Clackmannan Tower (in the shot) I’ve done before, but has the best view of the lot (too many trees in the way despite Castle Campbell’s elevation), so always worth the effort. 

Home for a black pudding and fried egg roll with coffee. Oh yes. Recovery food of the gods. 

(Mid afternoon saw more hares (I’m thinking the same pair) in the extras).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.