Big beach and big sky

After visiting the west coast yesterday, today it was the turn of the east coast. This afternoon, we drove up to Brora and walked a little way along the very long north beach. It’s a perfect and unspoilt spot, which really pushed our buttons. Another extra of the sea.

We only got out in the afternoon, because we had a bit of morning regarding our tick passengers. One tick I removed from Mr A’s leg yesterday had been there longer than the others, and it wasn’t looking all that good this morning, so I phoned NHS 24 and, after some delay, we were phoned back by a doctor from Golspie who appeared to be quite an expert in ticks. He assured us that at this stage, Mr A would only be looking at discomfort from the actual tick bite and that the secondary Lyme Disease infection could not have set in yet. However, he made sure we knew what to look out for. However, that wasn’t the end of tick passengers for the day. I found another one on my wrist this afternoon, which definitely wasn’t there yesterday so obviously arrived today. Ditto Mr A found a small one on his arm. I suspect they come from the woods around the cottage. There is obviously a need for extreme vigilance around here. My Finnish sharp pointed tick removal tweezers are really coming into their own this week.

In and amongst, I read another two chapters of the thesis I have to read in draft. I hope to get that finished tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.