Easter Bunny

Fascinating beliefs about rabbits and reproduction and religion
https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-ancient-origins-of-the-easter-bunny-180979915/

I didn't want to get out of bed this morning because today was the day I was to clean the garage, but my neighbor's dog was protesting. The local rabbit has a friend and the two were ignoring his authority. I didn't see both, but I'm sure if the rabbit has a friend I'll soon be seeing more of them. There is also a picture of the entrance to their home under the gazebo. 

While cleaning my garage I wished my newer neighbors a happy Easter and he gave me these eggs. 

Otherwise I worked so long and so hard that my arms are tired. After hours of cleaning the garage, which was made much better by playing very loud music, I discovered I'd allowed a pesto jar to fall into the kitchen sink incinerator. The width of two of my fingers and the jar were too much. I felt quite clever for figuring out how to take the insinkerator apart to remove the jar.....until I wasn't physically strong enough to put it back together again. It was heavy, it had to be held up for a long time while figuring out how to turn and twist and whatever else, and in the end I didn't have the upper body strength for it. 

Hallelujah, my neighbor and new HOA president offered to help. He both validated that the design was weird and unintuitive and difficult AND fixed it. And then he wouldn't let me order any food to thank him. So I made him hummus tortilla pizza with bell peppers and avocado and tomato and cilantro and begged him to let me thank him. 

To reward myself I treated myself to some gardening. I planted bulbs but with oyster shells on top and here's hoping. 

I gave my neighbor with the new lawn my electric lawnmower. This reflects success for both of us. 

TV in Russia is getting awkward.  Television news programs still say “military operation”, but guests in the heat of the shouting often yell about “war.”


Russian commentators don't seem to believe that the warship caught fire and are blaming Ukraine. 


Prince Harry honored Ukrainian team members during Invictus Games opening ceremony. 


Owners of a nature resort in British Colombia have put renovations on hold to open up the stunning 81-acre property exclusively for housing Ukrainian refugees. One of them has family from Ukraine. They hope to host 100 people. The 15,000 square-foot resort, which they were renovating into an event space and gallery, is in a beautiful pine forest surrounded by a lake. They decided to even reverse some of the work, in order to ensure a livable space for as many people as possible. Some local contractors volunteered to help. They renamed the property, "Ukrainian Safe Haven."
Ukraine began accepting crypto donations as soon as Russia invaded. Tens of millions flooded in. Financial Times says they've received over $100m. Today Ukraine's vice prime minister and minister of digital information posted a picture of something they've bought with the money - 200 sets of ballistic plates for bulletproof vests.
Hang in there this week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.