Allotment 2022 onwards

By misetak

Not quite the day we planned

Instead of the family gathering, we ended up with a quiet day as my husband is ill.  A negative covid test yesterday, but he will be doing another one tomorrow, as he is in the middle of 2 weeks of jury service. So I was catching up on housework and providing hot drinks at regular intervals during the day, but I escaped to some gardening and allotmenting in the early evening.
I have potted on my chillies and luffas and put them in the potting shed.  The pots were rescued from a friend's plot when she left(with permission), hence the fading paintwork.  I'm a bit worried about the luffas as Monty only put his luffa seeds in last Friday.  I may start a couple more this week just in case, as I have spare seeds.
In the yellow pot, hope is fulfilled (see 20 February) as the Achimene tubers have done their stuff and I have at least two baby plants there.
Continuing clockwise, I have finally managed to grow not one, but two avocados. These are staying at home and probably indoors for a while still.
Finally the broad bean plot: the furthest third  has the plants that I started in the polytunnel.  In the middle third, the red-flowered broad beans that I sowed a few weeks ago have just popped their heads above the surface. So this evening, I sowed some white flowered beans in the nearest third.  Finally getting to grips with successional sowing.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.