Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Alone

Meanwhile, back at the Great Blue Heron nests....this was the only one that was alone standing on a nest.  Many thanks to Carolina for hosting MonoMondays this month!

I saw several potential mamas who appeared to be sitting on eggs, most with their partners standing by.  I'm hoping the chicks will be big enough to see before the leaves grow and obscure our view.  I parked farther down the road today and walked back to the viewing area (with all the No Trespassing signs) and stood in the road for viewing and photos.  

I am grateful for a day with very little wind!  I missed my opportunity for a bike ride, though.  When it blows, it comes up suddenly and blows hard, so I didn't want to take a chance.  It was forecast to be 20 mph today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.