analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Stanley The Vice. Leitz Summicron 50mm DR

This venerable orange vice, Stanley to his friends, has been in my family at least since the 1970s, and probably decades longer.  It was part of my Dad's tool collection which followed me to Boston when I came to live here.  Stanley excels at holding things for small metalwork projects.  Since I don't have a big enough workshop to keep a dedicated bench, I fitted Stanley to a stout piece of hard maple which is clamped into the end vice of my woodworking bench when necessary.  That's where I found him today after his assistance with sawing down some bolts.
Some months back, I scanned a slide taken by my Dad, probably in 1972 or '73, in which Stanley makes an appearance.  My late older brother, then studying to be an architect, got it into his head to learn how to weld with oxy-acetylene, and then begin producing copies of the famous LC1 Cassina chair designed in 1928 by Swiss architect, Le Corbusier.  Over the course of an entire summer vacation, he produced just one.  As an Extra, I've included that scan of brother hard at work with Stanley assisting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.