The meandering Severn's sand banks at half tide

I stopped beside the river Severn at Epney where the flood bank runs beside the road to Saul. The sky was overcast so I could look towards the sun in the south-west .

The gulls are the most prominent birds on the sand bank which is revealed as the tide recedes. Often there are herons and egrets standing in the shallow water but I saw none today. I liked the end of winter colours in the landscape. This meander is very large and at its apex there was an old ferry crossing to the town of Newnham-on-Severn perched on a cliff carved by the river over the centuries.

There is also a passage, the old name for a ford or ferry, to this sandbank which is marked on old maps and referenced in books about the life on and about the river Severn. I once saw a couple of young people walking across the river bed from Framilode, the place where the river Frome joins the Severn, to that opposite sandbank at the lowest tide. They were walking up to their necks but didn't need to resort to swimming. But I think that was a rare event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.