Bits of Life Thru A Lens

By KimD

Marathon Monday

I am so saddened by yesterday's events. Marathon Monday was such a central part of my youth and I was thrilled to be able to share the wonder and excitement of it with my own children in 2001. Massachusetts is family oriented and neighborly every day (especially in comparison to Florida) but never more so than on Marathon Monday. No place is open ... everyone has the day off and heads out to watch at some point along the route. We cheer on every runner and yell a bit louder for those we know. We pass out oranges and water until we run out. And words cannot describe the amazement at the sheer number of participants.

My Facebook status yesterday morning was "Today is probably the second most homesick day of the year for me (Christmas is the first). :( Good luck to all those running the Boston Marathon!!! And to all those watching and passing out oranges, take some pictures for me!!!"

I am sickened by the evil that would hurt so many innocent people and forever change the meaning of such a special day. A piece of my heart has always been in Boston ...today all of it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.