Tulips at Hampton Court

This afternoon I visited Hampton Court again for the tulip festival. Since my last visit we have had warm weather and the tulips have bloomed very quickly so that I should think over 50% are now over. It is billed as going on until 1st May but by then I think the majority will be over. I looked at my photographs from last year and I would think they are at least 10 days ahead of last year.

Some beds near the Real Tennis court are late varieties. See extra. We were given a very comprehensive booklet detailing the actual varieties of tulips in each bed throughout the different area of the Palace.

The blip is of Fountain Court which has a bed of 12,000 pink, purple and white tulips! In the latest series of Bridgerton the backdrop of one episode was filmed when the tulips were out in April 2021! Different colours last year.

In total they planted 120,000 bulbs this year. A bit of a shame they are going over so quickly, I fear some visitors may be disappointed if they make a special visit.
Also just planted, where the ice rink is in the winter, are lots of flower seeds to make a ‘Superbloom’ like at the Tower of London to celebrate the Queens Platinum Jubilee from 1June. You can see this from the towpath so people will not have to pay the entrance fee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.