Looking back

I designed today's ride around road kill. Strange, I know.  I spotted, with my little knowledge of mustelids, what I thought could be a pine marten in the roadside but didn't think they were around here - my only other knowledge of anything similar was an escaped ferret.  After some help from the local wildlife group, it seemed it might be a mink, a ferret, a polecat or a polecat-ferret - and I was now intrigued.  

So, off I went, back for a better look and a photo.  I headed first out to Embsay and Rylstone, found my roadkill and headed back into Wharfedale to pick up the road to Halton Gill.  I enjoyed every moment of an usual easterly along here although I knew I'd pay for that later.  Once past Pen-y-ghent, I turned left to head back over to Malham, a road I haven't taken for a while.  The day was just beautiful.  The wind was now not in my favour but Chris Boardman says, just go slower - so I did. 
 
Down and along to Airton but once I neared Rylstone again, instead of my usual route home, I turned left - took an accidental and sweet new road and eventually picked up the exquisite weaving road to Thorpe.  I'm not sure I've ridden it this way round and I think it's probably my favourite.

Spotted my first two or three swallows of the year too.

This photo is looking back from near the top of Malham Moor - thought you'd prefer that to the roadkill! (I'm now waiting for ID)

UPDATE: it’s a polecat! Sad but amazing to have spotted it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.