Nasmyth Bridge

This is such a classical view that I had to share the viewpoint with another photographer - a proper one, with a tripod.

Having returned my purchase of yesterday, which I should have known would make me  look like a 'sack tied ugly' as my Nanna used to say, for all that I liked the fabric and the style, we continued to Almondell Country Park.

Half-expecting it to be thronging with children on school holiday, we were surprised at how few people we met and so enjoyed the flowers, the birdsong and the (rather cool) fresh air as we followed the river as far as the Nasmyth Bridge.

I took several photos, not all successful and not of every flower seen but five, plus a butterfly, appear in the extra. Reading from top left clockwise we have one of the many sweeps of narcissus/daffodils, a patch of Anemone blanda (plus a friendly dog), a glorious patch of marsh marigold by the pond, a male orange tip butterfly, pink purslane and primroses. We also saw violets, dog's mercury, lady's smock, wind flower, Ramsons and spurge.

The river was quiet, too, with a few mallard, a pied wagtail and a single female goosander; I expected dippers or heron but there were none.

Still, it was a very pleasant interlude in the busyness of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.