Flowers

My bellringing friend Richard popped these around for me as a thank you for letting him and his mates use our season tickets lately. Between Ian being away, visitors and kitchen chaos we have missed a fair few. Will also miss this Saturday and Tuesday so let’s hope they continue to bring us good luck. I think every game they have gone to has been an Exeter win - am beginning to think that maybe Ian Leo and I are bad luck!

We dropped off Jaz and Nina at the train station and they headed into London before their flight back to Canada on Saturday. They had factored in a couple of days there as they needed to meet Canadian COVID testing rules before flying back in but during their visit that got scrapped so now they just get to enjoy a few days of being tourists instead! It is Jaz’s first UK trip so it will be a good chance to explore a bit of history.

Leo was out for the day with his mates and came back newly shorn after a visit to the barber’s.  The messy mop is still in top but at least the rest of it is tidied up.

Progress continues on the kitchen but it is still a far way off.  At least the garage is gradually emptying as the kitchen grows so you donut have to weave your way around too much stuff now to lay your hands on various things we packed away.

Mum and I escaped to the coffee shop in the Garden Centre for an hour to escape the noise.  It was a surprisingly warm day and the garden centre was packed. I think everyone was inspired to pick out garden furniture in the hope of more good weather.

I watched the Greer Garson version of Pride and Prejudice which wasn’t regency style in dress but was still very enjoyable.  I was reading up about the costuming afterwards of the various versions https://www.willowandthatch.com/costumes-jane-austen-pride-prejudice-period-dramas/

I was also trying to work out why Mr Collins was not a comic clergyman in this version and read that “ Because Mr. Collins, a ridiculous clergyman in the novel, could not seem to criticize men of the cloth, the character was changed to a librarian’. What a cheek!

I have also started watching The Split.  I am just one episode into season 1 so that should keep me occupied for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.