JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

Foamy Saliva hits Glasgow

I was at The Common Guild in Glasgow's Woodlands Terrace today to meet New York-based artist Carol Bove, who is installing her magnificently-titled exhibition The Foamy Saliva of a Horse.

If you've never been, this is a beautiful elevated building (owned by artist Douglas Gordon) with panoramic views of Glasgow and beyond.

As I chatted to Carol, who was mid-way through arranging a floor-based work consisting of hundreds of peacock feathers, the weather changed direction every two minutes. Sun, rain, high winds and dark broody clouds flashed past the huge bay windows quicker than you could say Venice Biennale.

(Carol showed Foamy Saliva at 2011 Venice Biennale and the Common Guild is in the throes of organising the Scotland + Venice 2013 presentation in Venice, which opens on June 1.)

I usually take pix as notes - as well as actual notes - when I'm doing my Saturday galleries column for The Herald and Carol just happened to be in the pic for this shot.

It's a strangely beguiling show. People sometimes find it scary to go into galleries like this but they shouldn't. The people who work there are hard-working and passionate about what they do. And what they show.

I liked Carol a lot. We had a good blether about all sorts. She lives in Red Hook, Brooklyn, and was telling me about a scheme through which her elder child is homeschooled in a small class size setting.

I won't give too much away as I'm off to slave over hot laptop now and write my copy for Saturday's paper.

The exhibition opens on Saturday afternoon, Tea and cake on offer...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.