Skyroad

By Skyroad

Hide And Seek Tree

...knowing I knew
I could never slip out of sight, a questing minnow,
netted, secure, in the slow heave of the shallows
where there was always
someone or something to run to.


I could get used to this; glorious summery weather, no need for a jacket, much less a coat. Out on an afternoon dander with my son in the nearby park, I would have felt considerably lightened, were it not for the chunky Canon I always carry. But I am very glad I did, since it allowed me to get a blip relatively early in the day. I had forgotten about this wonderful tree with its shadowy tunnel he always liked to plunge into and out of, then round again and again, a child of the Maypole, hiding and seeking, straining the invisible leash as far as possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.