This is the day

By wrencottage

A fitting day

The service of thanksgiving for our dear friend who died two years ago (when only very small funerals were allowed) was held in our church this afternoon. We watched it online because my husband is unwell, and were so grateful it was being live streamed. As we had anticipated the church was packed, and we had two choirs singing with us – both our church choir and a community choir, to which our friend had belonged. It was a very moving and joyous tribute to a special lady.

For the rest of the day I was engaged in some very fiddly alterations that I wanted to make to this dress. I bought it online a year ago, and it was very reasonably priced, but although I loved the colour on me, and it was supposed to be my size, the fit wasn't good, it looked a bit like a maternity dress! Not only that, but it was bereft of pockets and I really do like to have a pocket in all my clothes. I should have sent it back but at the back of my mind was the thought that I could alter it one day.

Today was that day. I added darts under the bust, sewed elastic on the inside of the waist at the back to draw it in, cut about 4" off the hem, and used the offcuts to make a pocket, which I inserted into the side seam.

And, voilà! My dress now fits beautifully, is a better length and it sports a pocket. All I want now is some warmer weather in which to wear it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.