*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

breathe

Another unsettling day with mum. I rang the dementia nurse at the local health centre but she wasn't in today so phoned the Rotherham Memory Service but no one got back to me. In the end, out of panicky desperation, I phoned Alzheimer's Society's helpline and a very nice, calm man chatted with me and helped put my mind at rest a little. People like him are worth their weight in gold.

She felt poorly for most of the afternoon but is much better this evening. She's got her colour back and enjoyed her evening meal and pudding :-) I'm hoping the side-effects will start to abate over the next day or so.

It would have been so easy to get utterly hammered today, to numb the fear and anxiety, everything... but somehow I managed to choose not to.

Read a page post on facebook earlier which said: "Maybe your emotional state makes total sense given what you're going through."

Somehow I really needed to hear that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.