Preparing Paintings

Here are twelve paintings outside my patio door where I spray them with varnish. First I paint the edges with black gesso so they can be displayed without a frame if desired. Then I spray with two coats of Kamar varnish to set the water solvable and alcohol based inks and two coats of UV archival varnish so they won’t fade in the sun. I do this outdoors to keep the varnish odors out of my house. The day has to be warm enough and I wait at least 15 minutes between coats. Today was perfect for this. I also zoomed with my book club friends, had a visit from Miguel from Baron Heating, and went out to dinner and the opera groups’ performance at WWU with Shelly and Stu and Judy. Now I’m ready to get to bed! Great, very busy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.