Duck!

Have you seen that David Attenborough documentary where the baby birds fall down from their nest,  high up on a cliff, and you think, they can't possibly survive?

I witnessed the London equivalent today. Walking through the Barbican, I spotted a duck. OK, not that unusual, even if they're not usually hanging out there. Then there was a duckling and then another. I realised they were falling nearly 30ft from a concrete podium, down to the pavement in front of me. 
I think 11 ducklings took the leap into the unknown and then stood about being buffeted by the wind, wondering what happens next, given they were nowhere near any bodies of water. 

Another passer-by alerted the very nice young women in the Barbican Conservatory who kindly let the ducks in to shelter until they could be relocated to the lake in the centre of the Barbican.

The extra, the large concrete block with the Barbican logo on it, is the podium they jumped from!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.