La vida de Annie

By Annie

Abergavenny Borough Band.

This evening my friend Lisa took me to a wonderful brass band concert at Santa Margarita Anglican Church in es Castell. More about the band here.
They are self-funded and perform to raise money for local charities - here, the Rotary Club of Menorca. They usually come every year but because of covid this is their first time back for a few years. The choice of music is eclectic, alternately moving and funny, and audience participation was encouraged. I was particularly struck by Annie's Song, which I listened to on repeat as a student, much to the annoyance of others in the student halls. Many others had experienced bereavement recently and Abide With Me hit the spot there. I've always loved the sound of brass bands, and the depth of sound engulfs you like a huge hug. More pictures in extras, including Bella the dog hoping for treats, and the vicar Paul watching from the balcony.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.