All Things Religious - Stromness day 8

It was another day of sightseeing for Daughter#1 and me, although I have seen the sights several times before.
Nevertheless she was particularly anxious to drive across the barriers to south Ronaldsay. First stop had to be the Italian Chapel and we were so early there were no other tourists. Onwards for the photographing of the wrecks at barriers 2&3. Then further south to see St Margaret’s Hope and the beautiful hamlet of Herston where I’m sure our presence was noted from behind net curtains.

Because there were no cafés open before noon and the thought of a cheese scone was causing distress to the daughter we went back to Kirkwall. There were three strokes of luck- 1) we managed to find a parking space 2) Lolz café had two seats available 3) there were only two cheese scones left. Somethings are meant to happen.

Thus fortified, we visited St Magnus Cathedral which is such a contrast to the Italian Chapel but both of them a tribute to man’s creativity.

Next came the museum but by this time I was losing a bit of the will to live and so having a seat on an Orkney chair while I waited for the daughter to finish her in depth examination of all things historical was completely restorative and I didn’t fall asleep .

Back at last to Stromness and high tide it was off with the clothes and on with the bathing cozzies and a swim in the sea.

I write this before we leave for a meal with my kindly taxi driver and his current wife CMC. It’s been a busy day again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.