I think we're alone now

There doesn't seem to be anyone around

I was up until 4 am researching evergreens and, once the dishwasher stopped, I didn't hear anyone making little sounds. I haven't seen any little evidence. No one has been eating bait in the one area someone was eating it. No one has stuck their head out and looked at me. I am very reluctant to say anything too hopeful. 

I cleaned the rest of the garage and it was horrible but drugs and loud music helped. I did not find a gigantic new hole. I found a spot where someone was beginning a gigantic hole. 

But, to be sweet to me and help me recover, I planted an Irish Moss. Then I realized it was a bad spot and replanted the Irish Moss. I moved the rest of the stones in anticipation of the new large one for the table and chairs under the deck. I washed the deck. I gazed lovingly at the colors in my garden. 

Podophyllum! Thank you iPhone app! It is widespread across most of the eastern US and SE Canada. Everytime I see one I am amazed and think it belongs in one of the dinosaur eras. So for Silly Saturday I posted the dragon with it. 

I'm considering bringing the dragon to Iceland. If it can behave for 11 days then on the 12th day we could bring it to the dragon sanctuary and it could meet other dragons. It has to behave though because many of the AirBnBs have no-pet policies. 

So far so good with the heucheras. Now that I planted lettuce the rabbit hasn't eaten anything in my garden. 

Over 2,000 Ukrainians, including 1,100 children, are receiving hospital treatment in Poland. There are Ukrainian language courses for doctors and nurses. Many hospitals have already employed interpreters. Poland has simplified procedures for Ukrainians to work there. 


I've been wondering about Covid and the the war. The Polish Deputy Health Minister said "... nearly everybody in Poland and Ukraine has already come into contact with the coronavirus as Omicron spreads more easily than other variants," he said. "According to our data, 95 percent of the Polish population have Covid-19 antibodies, the percentage of Ukrainians exceeds 80 percent."


As an example of what can be done with Starlink and the satellites, US and Israeli doctors are providing telehealth to Ukranian soldiers, civilians, and refugees. 


A number of countries walked out of the G20 Summit when the Russian delegates spoke. Now they've walked out of the G7 meeting of the Development Committee when a Russian official began to speak. 

When the invasion began in February, a clandestine network of railway workers, hackers, and dissident security forces began to disable or disrupt the railway links connecting Russia to Ukraine through Belarus, wreaking havoc on Russian supply lines. "The saboteurs drew inspiration from an earlier episode in Belarusian history, during World War II, when Belarusians opposed to the Nazi occupation blew up railway lines and train stations to disrupt German supply lines. The Rail War, as it is known, is venerated as a moment of triumph for Belarus, taught in schools as the most successful of the tactics deployed by resistance fighters that eased the way for Soviet troops to drive the Germans out." One group, the Cyber Partisans, is formed of exiled Belarusian IT professionals. They have carried out several cyberattacks on the Belarusian government since in 2020. The Cyber Partisans hacked into the railway’s computer network in the days leading up to the invasion and snarled rail traffic before Russian troops had even crossed the border. The groups focused their attacks on damaging equipment as opposed to hurting people to stop the railways from functioning.


Following the Czech Republic’s donation of 56 Pbv-501 infantry fighting vehicles to Ukraine, Slovenia is now donating tanks to Ukraine. Slovenia will send 30 to 40 units of M-84s to Ukraine, and Germany will give Slovenia an German-made tanks and Marder and Fuchs APCs in return. It is a loophole, because Germany is providing weapons to Slovenia, not Ukraine directly. 



On Wednesday, rescuers in eastern Ukraine pulled a puppy alive from the rubble of a bombed building and returned him to his owner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.