Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Freckles ..

As a change from tulips, I'm blipping a rhododendron today. Not just any rhododendron ... so if anyone out there knows what it is, I'd be glad to know. Not that I'm a rhoddie buff ...

Our friend Nigel was, and I have inherited all his books. They haven't helped me to identify this one. We got it from Nigel's widow when she sold off the land he'd planted it in. Luckily it survived the move from the Pennines to the Borders. I wouldn't say it was thriving, and its habit is not elegant, but it does manage to produce a few flowers. 
 
We're trying to get ahead with the garden while the dry weather lasts. So today was another spent bent over, or clinging to the rope that I slung round a tree 16 years ago to help me stay upright while working on the bank. It's still in good condition, which is more than I can say for me, but at least I didn't topple and roll to the bottom. 

It may be dry, but it's very cold. The fire is on, and it's nearly time for Gentleman Jack. I love seeing glimpses of Shibden Hall. It was a regular spot for Playgroup outings when we lived in Wharfedale.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.