horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Hello Deer

This is why I still get up at 6am on a working from home day.... I 'was' heading to the top of our track for potential hares in a field opposite, but this wee one got in the way. There's no opening to the Forestry Commission land either side between here and the main road...
So I just watched as it came closer, not wanting to push it up onto the road. Eventually clocked, so I moved back slowly - it ran a little way off, but will have had space to turn back with me gone. Roe Deer are properly native to the UK, almost hunted to extinction in the 18th century.
The Forestry Commission carry out surveys of deer to make sure numbers aren't getting too high, but in 'proportionate' numbers they bring a biodiversity benefit to our woodland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.