Journey Through Time

By Sue

Monkey Puzzle Tree

Araucaria araucana (commonly called the monkey puzzle tree, monkey tail tree, Chilean pine, or pehuén) is an evergreen tree growing to 40 metres (130 ft) tall with a 2 metres (7 ft) trunk diameter. The tree is native to central and southern Chile and western Argentina. Araucaria araucana is the hardiest species in the conifer genus Araucaria. Because of the great age of this species it is sometimes described as a living fossil. It is the national tree of Chile.

This tree is across the street from me and it is really getting tall now that it is about 15 years old. Bill's brother has always been fascinated with these trees and has planted one in every garden he has had for the last 40 years. I appreciate this tree for what it is and for it's uniqueness...but I don't want one in my yard. They aren't exactly cuddly!

I'll try to catch up on journals and such...so easy to get behind. As you all know.

See ya later...


"Show me a hero and I'll write you a tragedy." - F. Scott Fitzgerald

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.