Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Bluebells

Something of an EB today as it's been a bit fraught.  Before going to bed last night Mr T got completely confused about where he was going to sleep (he hasn't left his bedroom since 22nd November 2021) and thought he was in a caravan and his Aunt Rene didn't know we were here and what if it wasn't ok for him to use this bed,  why did he never see her, and he hadn't seen his Dad and so on and so forth.  He started to get upset so I explained to him how his memories were like books on a book shelf, and when it wobbled the top books fell off, and that was like the illness his brain had experienced and only books with the old memories were left.  He was satisfied with the answer but not the situation.  Followed by a morning with a few dramas, and the volunteer this afternoon, and as he'd been a bit mishap prone this morning I was going to continue painting the summer house.  

Numerous phone calls from Dad then!  Mum couldn't leave hospital as they couldn't get enough resources for the care plan she needed.  I had told him that as a carer he had the right to be involved in these discussions but he thought it would be ok.  Now it isn't as they've decided she needs 4 visits a day and that needs 4 people which they don't have!  Dad doesn't feel like he needs that but as he didn't ask to be involved he know is stuck as it was decided in his absence.  He asked me if I could try via my hospital contacts which I did but I haven't heard back from Dad so I don't know the outcome.

I've got my guitar lesson in an hour so I'm just trying to unwind a bit.  It's just felt like running from one spinning plate to another today.  Mr T was ever so sweet this evening though and worried about mishaps in the night. I always tell him not to worry and we'll deal with it if and when we need to.  These are the times I hold on to for strength, when there's that glimpse of just being a "normal" couple.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.