The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

All That's Right is Kendall

Last night, after viewing images and reading the stories that were unfolding from the tragedy in Boston, I went to bed knowing all that is wrong with humanity. Unspeakable acts of evil drawn out before our eyes, hatred and intolerance and illness put fully in view for us in the hopes that we will recede into the very Earth on which we stand. It was a most disturbing night and my heart continues to ache for the victims and their families and the entire City of Boston.

Roll forward 24 hours and while Boston is still very much on my mind, I am off to bed knowing all that is right with humanity for I spent the latter part of the afternoon and dinner with Kendall. She is a woman that has all the human qualities for which many of us strive: dignity, tolerance, compassion, intellect, reason, kindness, expression and the list goes on. You have seen her amazing images and read her mind opening verse, so you understand the point to which I write. And I can only tell you that all of her goodness and wonderfulness and brilliance are never more evident then when you hear her calming voice, listen to her eloquent words and stand in the midst of her caring eyes and joyful smile. I have known Kendall for only a bit over one year and we have only sat eye to eye twice. Yet, I feel as though we have been life long friends.

We met up in Manhattan without a plan. Manhattan is a city that does not need plans. The same is true for dear friends. Once you get past the "let's get together" agreement, the remainder of the details really are just that.....details. That said, we meandered about midtown, played with the light and our cameras very briefly, visited the ICP, and dined at my favorite hole in the wall. But perhaps the most special moment of the day was the leisurely time we spent together in magnificent Bryant Park. We talked about the state of the world and the state of photography. We laughed and smiled endlessly. We watched the magic of a child chasing her soap bubbles. We watched the juggling class being held in the park. It was New York at its finest. And though the sun had worked its way west and well past its prime light, at one point Kendall turned towards me and I was able to capture her look of joy, contentment and gratitude; all emotions that she so delightfully shares with us all. Today, my gift was to share in them directly with her.

Kendall, thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.