SilverImages

By SilverImages

IWM Duxford

You pay a certain penalty for going your own way. A lot of people think you're nuts, and you're not as popular with girls as you should be.
Ray Bradbury 
A little overdue for posting but so much going on I’m only just starting to catch up. To make the most of our time in Essex we headed off to IWM Duxford for the day, not a place on any of my lists necessarily but I remember K2 saying she’d enjoyed a day there so worth a visit. When I arrived I realised it was a place I’d fancied visiting years ago; when I was a QS in the late 1990’s I saw photos of the newly completed American Air Museum hangar, designed by architect Norman Foster, it looked so simple but elegant and a beautiful building to me. We’d barely arrived at the first hangar when a call came in from our solicitor to say there was a problem with completion date on the house – we were due to exchange in three days’ time! I left K1 to go aboard Concorde, while I spent an hour and a half and several phone calls to Agents and solicitors getting things back on track. Panic over we set about enjoying the sunshine and our day out. Something of a highlight after lunch as a Spitfire taxied along the runway nearby to take off for a spin around the area – one of several classic aircraft taking off fairly regularly. Amazing collection of aircraft and exhibitions of WWII memorabilia in a setting that must have seen plenty of action during the Battle of Britain. As closing time approached we hadn’t seen everything on offer, so lots to come back for if we’re in the area again and fancy a return visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.