hollyyoung

By hollyyoung

Spring Beauty

The ephemeral hunt is on and I'm going to be posting photos of wildflowers until this season ends.  I can hardly contain the joy I feel.  This flu has let go its nasty grip on me and I didn't miss one of my favorite and fleeting seasons of the year.  
My mother grew up in the Vermont hills and she always told me stories about picking the spring flowers for May baskets.  Young girls would make the baskets in school and pick a bouquet of wildflowers (now most of the flowers they picked are endangered and its illegal to pick them - see Hepatica in the extra).  On May Day morning the older women in the village would find the baskets hanging on their doors.  
I remember once in 6th grade, we made paper baskets and filled them with drawings of wildflowers for Mother's Day.  And now...I don't know if anyone remembers?  Best to honor Mother Earth by leaving the flowers to come back another year...please keep coming back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.