Animals Strike Curious Poses

Spring is springing out all over in central Pennsylvania. Everything is in bloom, everywhere, and the animals and birds are very, very active. My husband and I went over to the former Dry Hollow Camp property, also known to us as "Scotia West," for a day hike and a look around, while the warmer weather was still with us.

On the drive over, we passed the local llama farm, and as I looked out, I spotted one of the younger, fuzzier llamas, mounting another llama. "Oh look!" I said to my husband, as he rolled his eyes. "Animals strike curious poses," he replied, sagely, referencing some strange Prince lyrics that we both recently raised our eyebrows over. And we had a good laugh.

We passed farm properties on the way and cooed over the tiny, white lambs. But alas there was nowhere to stop for photos of that. At the Dry Hollow Camp property, we walked around, sat in our chairs and read our books for a while, and then embarked on a little walk over to the marshy area along a big field that reminded us both of the Quehanna Wild Area.

The noise from the local amphibian population was nearly deafening, and I spotted amphibian eggs in a big muddy puddle. As I zoomed in for a closer look, I discovered a pair of amphibians in the puddle, unmoving, locked in embrace. Prompting my husband to say: "Why are animals always DOING this in front of you?????"  Well, I don't know. What can I say? I guess I'm just lucky that way.  :-) I can't explain it all. I'm just the girl with a camera!

In a separate and only semi-related tale, my dear friend Nikki MK (who gets all of my prettiest shoes when I die, and who is one of the original trio of Three Little OCD Grrrlz) sent me a tiny fun package in the mail: a pair of googly eyes, which, of course, we had to play with. "Made with 85% NikkiMK substitute," the package said. And "processed in a location that contains cats." Nikki, you crack me up!

T. Tiger put on his sunglasses and wore the googly eyes for a photo, which you may see in the extras. He is also wearing his Spider-Man sticker as a sort of T-shirt. We took it off a bunch of bananas one day and stuck it on him, and now he won't let us take it off! Doesn't he look silly? Yeah. Righteous! (Or perhaps that's just his startled look, upon witnessing the act depicted above!)

Well, I've got two pictures, so I've got two songs. This first one is for the animals who strike curious poses this time of year: Prince, with When Doves Cry.  The second one is for that T. Tiger and his amazing googly eyeballs, courtesy of Nikki MK: Survivor, with Eye of the Tiger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.