Sprout lover

By robharris35

Stage 4

After an epic 4-day Easter weekend, it was back to the grindstone. If grindstone can really describe the chilled out vibe of Hout Bay and the throw-caution-to-the-wind decision to eat carrot cake for breakfast.

On a lunchtime walk around the harbour, a few drunkards were trying to master the hustle of seeing someone coming in their direction, throwing fish scraps to a seal, and then demanding money for performing a trick. There’s entrepreneurship and there’s being ridiculous. I withdrew to the beach, where I accepted I am now someone who buys coconut milk lattes from plant-based ranges at the supermarket.

South Africa‘s electricity grid is in chaos, with infrastructure that can’t power the nation. We have reached Stage 4 which means two or three blackouts of around two hours each day. 8-10.30pm was one such down period, so I occupied myself for most of the evening with a head torch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.