earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Keeping Working

Reading is an important part of my writing process. I've just the title story left to read from this collection of short stories - thanks, P, for the recommendation. They've all been good. Some have been devastatingly brilliant. It's something of a masterclass. I would never cut sentences out of a book but I've certainly been copying out some to stick on my virtual wall. I'm left wondering, how do you craft a sentence so good that it's a work of art in its own right.

I came across a quote today that I'd written down some time ago. It's apparently attributable to Pablo Picasso and although it's all over the internet that it's from the great man, it's not easy to find proof of that. Anyway, it says "Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working." I keep reminding myself of that on very slow days like this one. I just have to make sure that I'm at the keyboard, or have a pencil in my hand, for when inspiration strikes. I have to be open to the moment, not distracted doing something else. It would be awful to miss it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.