WorldsWorstWrit

By WorldsWorstWrit

A Larger Visitor

For a few days now I've noticed my bird feeder has been mysteriously moved each morning. 

It sits on a post, secured behind a nail, in a place that's immune to wind. It survived all of the recent storms we had without budging an inch, so when I found it laying on the ground one morning I was very suspicious. 

When it happened 5 days in a row, I knew something must be up. Eventually I caught a bunch of beautiful rooks in the garden looking at the bird feeder, so I thought it must be them! 

I actually caught a video of them in the act, managing to lift it up above the nail and fling it onto the ground to knock the seeds out, since they're too big to use the feeder properly. 

Far from angry about it, I am endlessly impressed by how intelligent these birds are, and I think they deserve some extra seed as a reward for their ingenuity! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.