Gentleman

Today I sadly had to bid farewell to Cape Town, which has served me very well these last weeks. The Airbnb hosts on this quiet street have been excellent and I highly rate their place, value for money and location. I got a very nice review from Krystyna referring to me as a ‘young gentleman’.

I am flying to Nairobi, Kenya overnight as I still can’t enter Tanzania without official paperwork, and there’s a work meeting I am attending. This is majorly exciting for the opportunity to spend time face to face with a group of colleagues, who mostly I will be meeting for the first time. Barren solitary work life is reaching an end.

As I had all afternoon to occupy myself, Mark and Erin let me use their house as a staging post. I completed some work and errands, including the critical one of looking for a nifty coffee plunger doubling as a travel mug, which I spied in Mark’s kitchen.

On the flight I met a very interesting woman who was Kenyan born, who holds passports for the UK and South Africa and who has residence paperwork for Namibia and Botswana. Clearly from wealth, she has constructed her life and investments enviably so as to spend half of her time bowling around on epic adventures. She was fresh from a safari in the Central Kalahari, making a pitstop in Cape Town to clear out a house within what sounded like an extensive property portfolio. She was next off to visit her 90-year old mother in Malindi on the coast of Kenya. Not a bad gig.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.