Marsupium Photography

By magi

sycamore aphid

Spent most of the day stuck in front of the computer. Today was the first full day of online learning for my PgCAP course. I really enjoyed the day. Lots of interesting stuff I hadn't thought about before and the online delivery was very engaging. 

After the lectures I went for a walk in the cemetery. The sycamore aphid is a new one for my collection. I had noticed them before but they are quite small so I never bothered before. I like the two tubes (siphunculi) at their rear. According to wikipedia the aphids secrete a quick hardening fluid for defensive purposes. Focusing is tricky with the lens, especially at 2x magnification. Must try with a tripod and focusing rail at some stage for non-moving beasties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.