Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Bath time

I went down to the river to take some photos of Mama Swan sitting on her eggs - but when I got there I saw Daddy Swan having his bath. He was doing such a thorough job of it, splashing in the water and then ducking his head below the water and letting the water run over his back, and then flapping those huge wings, over and over again.

When he realised he had an audience I swear he decided to put on an even greater show to upstage Mama Swan, and he went on and on, splashing about like crazy. Carly Simon's song popped into my head (you know the one written for Mick Jagger or Warren Beatty or whoever)

Mama Swan got completely forgotten about, after all she was just sitting on her nest looking bored and not attracting any looks from anyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.