Through a lens darkly

By oojeyboojey

Tiptoe through the tulips

Let me start the explanation for this image by saying: my job is strange. On a daily basis, I rub shoulders with theoretical physicists, experimental chemists (not that they would admit openly to being chemists while they're on the physics payroll), biologists and a whole host of inter-disciplinary people. This makes for a very interesting research environment, not to mention a fantastic social experience.

The tulip in this photograph was provided by the lovely Sara, who spontaneously bought a bunch of them and handed them out to everyone at tea time this morning. She recently bought a piece of scientific glassware to use as a vase in her office. Kooky and awesome!

The beetle is known as Sagra longicollis to etymologists but Bob to me. I nabbed Bob and his chum a while ago and have been keeping them in my desk drawer. (My desk drawer is almost worthy of a blip in itself).

So there you have it! Gorgeous colour, brought to you by nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.