Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Legs

Back Blip - yes, here we are again playing catch-up!

I excelled myself today. I hadn't set out to do so, but I miscalculated and ended up walking much further than I had planned when I set out on the next leg of my 'Canal Challenge 200'.

Having walked the first part of the Union Canal from its start at Fountainbridge to Hermiston a fortnight ago, I took the train out to Edinburgh Park station this afternoon and walked up to where I had left the walk last time.

I had planned to walk from Hermiston to Ratho, a distance of just over three miles. However, when I arrived at Ratho I discovered there wasn't another bus back to Edinburgh for about 45 minutes. So I stopped, had a snack from the contents of my backpack and then decided to continue walking.

What I should have realised is that the next part of the walk is even less well-served by public transport and so there was nothing else for it but to continue my canal walk to Broxburn. Along the way, though, I reckoned that if I continued walking until I reached Winchburgh I could catch a bus back to where I had parked my car at Camelon, rather than return to Edinburgh and come home from there, which had been my Plan A.

So continue walking I did. Given that I didn't start my walk until about 3.30pm and that my walk had been about 11 miles, add on stops for photos and snacks / drinks, it was around 8.00pm before I arrived in Winchburgh. Thankfully the bus back to Falkirk was more or less on time, nevertheless I was rather leg-weary by the end of today's adventure, Still, the weather was good, the scenery too (well, for most of the walk) and the experience (or at least the completion of it) provided a glow of satisfaction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.