StephenF

By StephenF

A heraldic lion

I have been in Nottingham today for a meeting at the National Justice Museum in the old Lace Market part of the city. As I had time on my hands before heading back to the station, I looked into St Mary's Church where I found this impressive heraldic figure of a lion bathed in sunshine. Facing it was a similarly impressive figure of a unicorn but that was in shadow. They date from the early 18th century and represent the union of England (the lion) and Scotland (the unicorn) in 1707. As the extra photo shows, the church has spectacular stained glass.Nottingham is dotted with information boards relating the legend of Robin Hood. A 14th century ballad told of his capture whilst kneeling in St Mary's Church to confess his sins. Needless to say he subsequently escaped from the city gaol with the help of Little John.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.